Giving Tuesday

I got involved with #givingtuesday after hearing about it from a good friend over dinner one evening.

Giving Tuesday is the antidote to the massive consumer frenzy that is Black Friday and Cyber Monday. It is a day of giving, a day to do good stuff, a day to make a difference. It doesn’t matter who you give to, choose a worldwide charity or a local one. It doesn’t matter what you give, whether you make a trip to a charity shop with some clothes from the back of your wardrobe or run a marathon for Cancer Research, whether you donate time or money, cakes or clothes.

I use social media a lot to promote my business, so I thought this was somewhere I could help spread the word about #givingtuesday. In November lots of businesses are promoting #blackfriday sales. I decided, instead of having a sale, I would donate 10% of my November sales to Clyde Cash for Kids. During November, I promoted both #givingtuesday and #cashforkids on Twitter and other social media. My daughter also got in on the act, giving a presentation to her class about #givingtuesday; laying the groundwork for future #givingtuesday activities at her school.

I talked about #givingtuesday lots on the run up to the day with family, friends, fellow Etsy shop owners and on social media, making over three and a half thousand impressions on Twitter with my #givingtuesday tweets.

giving tuesday 2016
#givingtuesday 2016

Every little helps! I got involved with #givingtuesday after a single conversation with a friend. It really is that simple, spread the word! 2016 was the first year that I participated in #givingtuesday, but it won’t be the last, I’m already thinking about how to get more people involved this year! Giving Tuesday falls on the Tuesday after Black Friday and Cyber Monday, this year it’s the 28th November 2017, so there’s plenty of time to get organised. I’ve already taken the first step by signing up to be one of the 1000 Faces of Clyde Cash for Kids.

 

Further reading:

http://www.givingtuesday.org.uk/case-study-chalso/

http://www.cashforkids.uk.com/

http://www.givingtuesday.org.uk/

https://www.givingtuesday.org/

 

 

3 thoughts on “Giving Tuesday

Leave a Reply

